What is 11List?

//
Hi everyone!

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 9.36.22 PM

My name is Lindsey Peckham and this is my attempt at blogging.

Let’s start with the basics. Who am I? I am a recent grad from Northeastern University in Boston, and am a current marketing student at the Startup Institute in Boston. I am very creative by nature and enjoy a wide range of things. Most of my 11Lists will be dedicated to that range of things, from exercise to music to interior design and fashion to food. I couldn’t pick one topic to write about, so I am going to write about it all!

  • Why am I blogging, you ask? 

Short answer: Branding

Long(er) answer: I recently embarked on a new journey to advance my career in marketing. I was accepted into Boston’s Startup Institute program, and realized that in order to make it in marketing, or pretty much anything having to do with business, I have to have a personal “brand”.

Branding yourself is a curious task. I never thought that I would be my own walking billboard for a Lindsey Peckham “brand”, but, as I’ve started the SIB program, I’m realizing that this is so important in the digital world we live in today.

It was really difficult for me to try to come up with a blogging concept because my interests are so broad. Which left me with the question-

  • How could I sum this up all into one blog without 1) thoroughly confusing or boring my readers, and 2) sounding like every other blog out there?

What I came up with is 11List. In the age where the BuzzFeed’s and EliteDaily’s of the world flood our social media newsfeeds, lists have become a popular way to grab attention and communicate a message in a quick, simple way.

I figured I would use this List concept and make my own lists of different topics that I enjoy. Hopefully I can spread some knowledge of a cool product, app or even recipe that someone will find useful (or delicious!)

Since I’m clearly not an expert in everything, I am hoping to have friends stop by and post their own 11List of topics they are passionate about. That way, there will be cool things on here for a wide range of people- not just ones who like baking or music playlists.

  • Okay, this doesn’t sound like such a bad idea, but…Why 11?

11 has been my lucky number for years, and it’s waaayy more exciting than the number 10- don’t you think? Who needs even numbers!

If you made it this far, thanks for reading and if you have an 11List you want to write about, let me know- I’d be happy to it to my list of lists 😉

-L

Leave a Reply

