Thoughts On Happiness & Positivity

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the power of positivity, and how much easier life feels when you choose to be happy. Sure, it’s normal to have days where you feel down, but it’s important to shake it off quickly and get back out there.

I’m a generally positive person who tries to see the best in people and situations; however, after job hunting for almost a year, I was starting to feel a little down on myself. It’s hard not to have some self-doubt after being rejected countless times. On days where I’d receive rejections for roles that I really wanted, I would allow myself an hour to feel bad, and then quickly shift my energy back to positivity.

Sometimes I’d feel guilty for being so upset, thinking about other people who have it way worse than me. Putting things into perspective, I know my situation really isn’t that difficult, but, I think it’s important to know how you feel and acknowledge your frustrations, and use them as motivators to create a positive change.

This post might be a little too much peace, love and rainbows for some people, but I think happiness is one of the most important things in life!

Here is my 11List on ideas for positivity and happiness:

1. Dave MacLaughlin, CEO at VSnap, came into SIB today and said something that really struck a chord: he asks his kids everyday “is today going to be good, great or awesome?”. I love this. There is no negative answer, only positive. Work on making your day “awesome”, but even when it’s not, it can still be good.

2. Write 3 positive things that happened to you each day. I was talking with my friends Spencer and Martha from SIB (You’ll hear about this place a lot- I’m obsessed) and they said that they have each tried a method where they recap their days in a positive way- writing things that made them happy, or even just something small that they’re grateful for.

3. Rewire your brain for positive thinking. Shawn Achor speaks on TEDxTalks about The Happiness Advantage. An interesting way to think about positivity and perspective.

4. If you’re into adorable kids and adorable puppies being best friends, then follow MommasGoneCity on Instagram. Pretty much the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.  If this doesn’t make your heart melt a little, then you need to check yo’self…

Preview of cuteness:

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 11.37.00 PM

Photo: http://instagram.com/p/k2mS3NQSxj/

5. Go outside or just be active. We’ve all heard the countless scientific studies on the link between happiness and exercise. I am a huge believer in exercise as a mode to ‘tude check- when you’re running your butt off for 4 miles you don’t have the energy to be sad or mad, you just get out there and pound pavement.

2349dcf53e9bbca2350b2edef15fca28

6. Listen to music that puts you in a positive place. I made a playlist on Spotify called Sitting in Sunshine, that I use to imagine that I’m sitting on a warm beach, listening to some happy, chill tunes. (I am not a hippie, I swear).

7. Download the Happier app, or follow them on twitter. A very cool and uplifting app that was created to “share happy moments with people you care about”.

8. Check out NapkinNotesDad. Not even going to tell you why- just do it. You’ll be glad you did.

9. Read The Habits of Supremely Happy People. Some nice reminders and thoughts on true happiness.

10. Happiness is contageous. Connect with people who are positive. I guarantee when you surround yourself with people who have a positive outlook, you’ll want to emulate that feeling. This is exactly what SIB has done for me- everyone there is so supportive and positive during the day that it’s hard not to feel the same!

11.  Last but not least, know it’s okay not to be happy ALL the time… just take time to reflect when you’re not, and how you can change your outlook to get back to your happiness.

Repeat steps 1-11 as needed.

-L

One thought on “Thoughts On Happiness & Positivity

  1. Lindsey, I love Spencer’s and Martha’s tips! I think im going to put them to work. I do most of the other stuff, minus the exercise lol I am looking forward to Lillian’s improv workshop too! Great post!

Leave a Reply

