My Favorite Green Smoothie Recipe

Happy Sunday, everyone! I know I have seriously been neglecting my blog lately- fully blaming it on my job search. I have been really active with interviews these past few weeks and have started considering places outside of Boston- fingers crossed for San Francisco!

It’s always been a dream of mine to move to the West Coast, namely the SF area, so when I had the opportunity to interview with a few companies there I was extremely excited! One of the reasons why I love SF so much is it’s laid-back and health-oriented residents. I love being outside and eating healthy (most of the time), and I really felt at home when I visited the Bay area last May.

Now, the reason for this “healthy” blog post: my favorite Green Smoothie recipe! I started to change the way I ate last November, and replaced one meal a day with this green smoothie recipe. The results were amazing! I lost 15 pounds (see ya later senior year party weight) and had so much more energy.

I can really tell the difference when I cut back on the carbs and drink one of these a day. My 2 mile struggle of a run became a 4 mile run that left me feeling awesome! Check out this delicious (and super simple) green smoothie from SimpleGreenSmoothies.com.

*Disclaimer: I know that it can be a little weird to see leafy greens blended up, but once you get past the fact that it is not going to be as sugary as a loaded fruit and yogurt smoothie, it is really surprisingly good!

Let me know what you think, and if you have any good smoothie recipes, please share.

-L

Image(Image via: SimpleGreenSmoothies.com)

I adapted the SimpleGreenSmoothies recipe so it serves one:

Ingredients:
  • 1 Cup Spinach or Kale
  • 1/2 Cup Orange Juice
  • 1/2 Cup Water
  • 1/2 Cup Strawberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/2 Cup Blueberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 Banana
Directions:
  • Blend Spinach (or Kale) with water & OJ until smooth
  • Add in rest of ingredients (Be sure to add ice if you’ve used all fresh fruit- 4 or 5 cubes will do)
  • Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

